Application Packets due at Local FSDOs by September 30th

The deadline for applications for the 2012 General Aviation Awards Program (GAAP) is September 30, 2011. Begun in 1963, the GA Awards program has evolved into a joint program between the aviation industry and the FAA to recognize excellence in four categories: Certificated Flight Instructor of the Year, Aviation Maintenance Technician of the Year, FAASTeam Representative of the Year, and Avionics Technician of the Year. Applicants are evaluated against at least four required metrics: professional involvement, pro bono service to the aviation community, continuing education, and the strength of three letters of recommendation.

The annual awards process begins at local Flight Standards District Offices (FSDOs), where applications are collected and local FAA personnel select their FSDO winners. FSDO winners are forwarded to FAA Regional offices where FAA personnel then select their Regional winners. Regional winners are then forwarded to the GAAP committee, which passes that information on to four panels of judges (one panel for each awards category). These industry judges—themselves previous National GAAP winners—then select the year’s National winners.

Those wishing to nominate deserving individuals in any of the four awards categories must ensure that application packets are received by their local FSDOs no later than September 30, 2011. Eligibility information and nomination forms are available at

About the author 

Rich Stowell (Lifetime Member)

You may also like

SAFE at #OSH22!

SAFE at #OSH22!

Leave a Reply

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}